At Inserm UMR_S1110, Institute of Viral and Liver Disease, we are studying the hepatitis C virus (HCV), the hepatitis B virus (HBV), the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), all with major repercussions on public health worldwide. Major unmet medical needs include the related complications of chronic infection, the absent/limited strategies to prevent/treat advanced liver disease and liver cancer, the limitations of current treatments against HBV-induced chronic hepatitis and the lack of vaccines for prevention of HIV and HCV infection. We are also interested in studying virus-host interactions of emerging viruses such as Dengue virus and Zika virus.

Using innovative approaches we are dissecting the molecular mechanisms underlying virus-host interactions including early stages of viral infection, genome replication and the assembly of viral particles. Furthermore, were are uncovering cell circuits that drive and maintain HCV/HBV infection and cause liver disease and cancer. Interactions of viruses with the immune system are also under investigation for vaccine development. In a joint program with the University of Strasbourg and the Strasbourg University Hospitals, we achieve unique synergies allowing ultimately the identification of novel targets for preventive and therapeutic strategies against viral infection and liver disease including liver cancer.

 

 

Virus-host interactions and liver disease

Prof. Thomas Baumert - Dr. Mirjam Zeisel 
Pathogenesis of virus-induced liver disease

Dr. Catherine Schuster 
Molecualr biology of virus-host interactions

Dr. Joachim Lupberger
Signalling and virus-host interactions                                   

Dr. Eric Robinet
Animal models for virus-host interactions and liver disease

Dr. Raphaël Gaudin
ATIP-AVENIR team "Membrane dynamics & viruses"

National French contracts
ANRS, ANR, LabEx HepSYS, IdEx, Fondation BNP-Paribas, CONECTUS, Fondation Recherche Médicale, Insitut National du Cancer, La Ligue Contre le Cancer, Région Alsace, Fondation ARC Pour La Recherche Sur Le Cancer, Fondation Université de Strasbourg, Institut Roche, Euromedex

International Contracts
European Union, Fond Européen de Développement Régional (FEDER), Interreg IV Rhin Supérieur (Hepato-Regio-Net), European Research Council, Infect-ERA, Horizon 2020, Foundation Else-Kröner-Fresenius, German Liver Foundation, Inserm EAL University of Freibourg, National Institute Of Allergy And Infectious Diseases of the National Institutes of Health

HepSYS

HEPCIR

Hepato-Regio-Net

HEP-CAR

HepaMAb

 

June 2017

Dr. Emilie Crouchet received the "Fondation de l'Université de Strasbourg" prize

March 2017

Dr. Emilie Crouchet received Eurometropole prize awarded by "Biology Society of Strasbourg"

Award in Biology 2015 from "La Recheche" magazine for the study: RACK1 controls IRES-mediated translation of viruses (Majzoub et al. 2014 Cell).

March 23, 2015

Targeting a host receptor instead of the virus: a new experimental approach against hepatitis C virus.

Prix Galien International

Professor Thomas Baumert, Head of Research Unit U1110 "Virus-host interactions and liver disease" has been awarded the "Prix Galien International" on December 4, 2014. This prize rewards the research of Thomas Baumert and his team on novel therapeutic strategies against hepatitis C virus infection. Read more

  • We seek

    PhD students

    March 30, 2017: We are seeking PhD students. We are interested in hearing from you! Our post-graduate training program is designed to guarantee your development into a world class research scientist.

  • We seek

    Post-docs

    Postdoctoral positions funded by EU programs are open now!

  • We seek

    Junior team leader

    The Inserm Unit U1110, Strasbourg, France is inviting applications from junior group leaders with an excellent track record and a research interest in the study of virus-host interactions.

Inserm unit UMR_S1110
3 rue Koeberlé
67000 Strasbourg
France
 
For information please contact:
Ms Catherine Corbel
Personal assistant of Prof. Thomas Baumert
Phone +33 (0)3.68.85.37.03
catherine.corbel@unistra.fr

 

Charlotte Bach
Tech Inserm
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.27
cbach@unistra.fr
Dr. Laurent Mailly
IR Unistra
Animal models platfrom responsible
Tel. +(0)3.68.85.37.91
laurent.mailly@unistra.fr
Dr. Simonetta Bandiera
Postdoc
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.27
sbandiera@unistra.fr
Marine Oudot
Tech CDD Unistra
Tel. +(0)3.68.85.37.13
laurent.mailly@unistra.fr
Prof. Thomas Baumert
Head Inserm U1110
Group leader
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.03
Thomas.Baumert@unistra.fr

Contact Prof. Baumert's assistant
Marie Parnot
Tech Inserm
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.07
m.parnot@unistra.fr
Nicolas Brignon
Tech Unistra
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.30
nicolas.brignon@unistra.fr
Richard Pidl
Animal care
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.30
Richard.Pidl@unistra.fr
Dr. Che Colpitts
Postdoc
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.38
colpitts@unistra.fr
Andres Roca
PhD student
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.38

andres.roca-suarez@etu.unistra.fr
Catherine Corbel
Prof. Baumert's personal assistant
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.03
catherine.corbel@unistra.fr
Dr. Eric Robinet
Group leader
Tél. +33 (0)3.88.11.91.73 and
+33 (0)3.68.85.37.91
eric.robinet@ihu-strasbourg.eu
Emilie Crouchet
PhD student
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.07
emilie.crouchet@etu.unistra.fr
Dr. Catherine Schuster
Deputy Director Inserm U1110
Group leader
Tél. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.41
catherine.schuster@unistra.fr
Sarah Durand
Tech Unistra
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.27
s.durand@unistra.fr
Sigis Sliwinski
IT support and logistics
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.13
Sigismond.Sliwinski@unistra.fr
Dr. Houssein El Saghire
Postdoc
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.38
elsaghire@unistra.fr

 
Dr. Christine Thumann
IR Inserm
BSL3 platform responsbile
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.38
christine.thumann@unistra.fr
Dr. Catherine Fauvelle
Postdoc
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.38
fauvelle@unistra.fr
Nicolaas Van Renne
PhD student
Tél. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.38
vanrenne@unistra.fr
Jérémy Grasser
Maintenance
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.46
j.grasser@unistra.fr
Dr. Eloi Verrier
Postdoc
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.38
e.verrier@unistra.fr
Dr. Nourdine Hamdane
Postdoc
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.38

anhamdane@unistra.fr
Patricia Wechsler
Glassware and autoclaving
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.13

patricia.wechsler@unistra.fr
Emilie Heuillard
Tech CDD IHU
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.91

emilie.heuillard@ihu-strasbourg.eu
SeungAe Yim
PhD student
Tel. +(0)3.68.85.37.07

seungae.yim@etu.unistra.fr
Laura Heydmann
AI Unistra
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.27
heydmann@unistra.fr
Dr. Mirjam Zeisel
Goup leader
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.09
mirjam.zeisel@unistra.fr
Dr. Olga Koutsopoulos
IR CDD Inserm
Project manager
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.38
koutsopoulos@unistra.fr
Anne Zeter
Financial officer and grant manager
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.02
anne.zeter@unistra.fr
Dominique Lecestre
Logistics and equipment
Tel. +33 (0)3.68.85.37.08
lecestre@unistra.fr
 
Dr. Joachim Lupberger
Staff scientist
Tel. +33 (0)3 68 85 37 15
joachim.lupberger@unistra.fr
 

Le site www.u1110.inserm.fr est une publication éditée par l'unité de recherche Inserm 1110,

Unité Inserm UMR 1110
Institut de Recherche sur les Maladies Virales et Hépatiques
3 rue Koeberlé
67000 Strasbourg
Téléphone : 03 68 85 37 03

Directeur de la publication : Thomas Baumert, directeur de l'unité 1110.
Webmestre : Olga Koutsopoulos (contacter le webmestre)
Hébergement : agence Tiz

L'utilisation du site est réservée à un usage personnel. L'accès au site peut être interrompu à tout moment, sans préavis, notamment en cas de force majeure, de maintenance ou si son éditeur décide de suspendre ou d'arrêter la fourniture de ce service.
L'éditeur s'efforce d'assurer au mieux de ses possibilités, l'exactitude et la mise à jour des informations diffusées, au moment de leur mise en ligne sur le site. Cependant, il ne garantit en aucune façon l'exactitude, la précision ou l'exhaustivité des informations mises à disposition. Les informations présentes sur le site sont non-contractuelles et peuvent être modifiées à tout moment.
Le site est régi par la loi française. Les utilisateurs étrangers acceptent formellement l'application de la loi française en visitant ce site et en utilisant tout ou partie des fonctionnalités du site.

Propriété intellectuelle
Les contenus qui apparaissent ou sont disponibles sur le site sont protégés par le droit de la propriété intellectuelle et sont la propriété exclusive de l'éditeur. A ce titre, vous vous engagez à ne pas copier, traduire, reproduire, vendre, publier, exploiter et diffuser des contenus du site protégés par le droit de la propriété intellectuelle, sans autorisation préalable et écrite de l'éditeur.

Vie privée
L'éditeur s'engage à ne pas divulguer à des tiers les informations que l'internaute lui communique. Celles-ci sont confidentielles et ne seront utilisées que pour les besoins du service.Le site répond à la réglementation relative à l'informatique, aux fichiers et aux libertés telle que définie par la loi n°78-17, modifiée. L'internaute dispose, pour ce qui concerne ses données personnelles collectées lors de sa visite sur le site, d'un droit d'accès, de modification, de rectification et de suppression des données conformément à la loi française. Ces droits peuvent être exercés auprès de l'éditeur : unité 1110 dot l'adresse figure plus haut

Liens
Le site peut contenir des liens vers des sites de partenaires ou de tiers. L'Inserm ne disposant d'aucun moyen pour contrôler ces sites n'offre aucune garantie quant au respect par ces sites des lois et règlement en vigueur.

Alerte démarchage
L'éditeur ne vend aucun emplacement publicitaire dans sa publication. Toute démarche en ce sens, est faite en fraude des droits de l'éditeur.

Site réalisé par :

104, rue de Hochfelden
67200 STRASBOURG
Tél : 03 67 10 18 50
www.tiz.fr

En collaboration avec la Délégation régionale Grand-Est de l'Inserm et l'unité Inserm 1110.

Crédits photos :
Inserm/P. Delapierre, O. Koutsopoulos, M. Zeisel, C. Heinrich, unité Inserm 1110

Contact : Banque d'images de l'Inserm  : www.serimedis.inserm.fr